Fallback User Option

Fallback User Option

What is Fallback User Option?

This feature allows global administrators to assign a fallback user that will automatically replace the API of users who no longer have access on external share.

Externally shared Confluence pages remain functional, even when the original user who created or modified the share loses access.

How to Set-up?

  1. Navigate to Global Settings in External Share for Confluence.

  2. Open Other tab.

  3. Select an available Atlassian user as the fallback user for inactive share and save the configuration.

image-20250922-133937.png

If a user who created or last modified an external share loses access to the instance, clicking the external share link will display the following screens.

 

User who lost access to an instance will see the first message, and user who lost access to space will see the second one.

image-20250311-154216.png
image-20250311-154016.png

However, once a fallback user is set up, the system will automatically switch to the assigned fallback API when the original user's API becomes inactive. It will make the external share link visible again.

image-20250221-074500.png
After a fallback user is assigned, system automatically makes fallback user to take over the external share.

This feature is useful for preventing broken shares due to employee offboarding, role changes, account deactivation, or temporary access loss and maintaining external share function.

 

Comments